Jump to Navigation

CP17/CMP7 Durban Debrief

External Reference/Copyright
Issue date: 
January 17, 2012
Publisher Name: 
More like this


The 17th session of the Conference of the Parties to the UNFCCC (CP17) and 7th session of the Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Kyoto Protocol (CMP7) held in Durban, South Africa, from 28th November to 11th December 2011 each produced landmark decisions.

The CP7 created the Ad Hoc Working Group on the Durban Platform for Enhanced Action with the mandate to negotiate a “protocol, another legal instrument or an agreed outcome with legal force” that closes the gap in ambition left by the pledges made under the Cancun Agreements to reach the goal to limit global warming to 2°C degrees compared to preindustrial levels and encompasses all Parties.

CMP7 concluded with an agreement to create a second commitment period of the Kyoto Protocol that will run to either 2017 or 2020.

Please click here to download.



Extpub | by Dr. Radut